Success Story: Prym GroupWarehouse Transparency with Peakboard

The Customer

The Prym Group, founded in 1530 as a company producing brass and copper, is the oldest industrial family business in Germany. Today, the core competence of the Stolberg-based corporate group is creative products for manual work and hobbies, closure systems and accessories as well as high-precision electro-mechanical components. The Prym Group is represented worldwide with around 3,300 employees at locations in Europe, Asia, Latin/North America and Africa. The group comprises the four independent market segments Prym Consumer, Prym Fashion, Prym Intimates and INOVAN. The group is headed by Prym Management-Holding.

Challenge

Making people's lives easier: That is Prym's claim. Throughout the company's history, ideas run like a red thread in order to live up to this claim - not only in the direction of the customers, but also in the direction of the company's own employees: Oliver Fischer, Head of Logistics and the Commodity Centre, his colleagues Charles Overtus, Operations Manager of the Commodity Centre, and Tomas Hösch, responsible for the organization and project management of SAP, came up with an idea to make it easier for forklift drivers and order pickers in the warehouse of the Prym Consumer division during a visit to a trade fair. “We actually came across the all-in-one solution Peakboard for data and process visualization by chance and immediately thought, that this is a good idea for us to visualize directly in the warehouse which transport orders have been processed or still have to be processed, where there is a bottleneck, etc.”, says Hösch.

Previously, warehouse operators lacked transparency regarding the current workload. They were employed by the control center, for example to drive or pick goods replenishment from the high-bay warehouse or goods receipt but had no overview of the current situation themselves. But even the control center responsible for resource planning could only inform itself with some effort, since the SAP ERP data management system did not offer any suitable and uncomplicated visualization options other than the output of tables. “Since the price/performance ratio was also right, we decided to test the solution in practice,” reports Hösch.

Solution at a Glance

Challenge

Transparency of workloads for employees in high-bay warehouses, order picking and warehouse control centers

Solution

Introduction of Peakboard at the Alsdorf site and provision of boards with information on transport orders in the areas of high-bay warehousing and order picking via three monitors

Advantages

  • Graphical visualization of SAP data
  • Transparency of workloads for employees in the warehouse
  • More efficient planning of work assignments

Time to Value

Only a few weeks for the project implementation from the data connection over the creation of the boards up to the productive implementation.

Contact

Location Stolberg

Prym Consumer Europe GmbH
Zweifaller Straße 130
52224 Stolberg

Telefon: +49 (0) 2402 14-2228
Telefax: +49 (0) 2402 14-2905
E-Mail: info@prym.com
Website: www.prym.com

The Solution

Using a free trial, Prym was able to convince itself beforehand whether Peakboard could really visualize processes, information and data as easily in real time and place them prominently for employees in all areas as Peakboard promises: The all-in-one solution consists of software and hardware, combined in a smartphone-sized aluminum box with an integrated Wi-Fi module. Since each Peakboard visualizes the data independently, the solution can be used without a central server. Peakboard accesses a data source directly via Wi-Fi or LAN, aggregates the data for the visualization and transmits it via an HDMI cable to the desired (large) screen. Possible data sources range from machines, sensors, ERP systems such as SAP to Excel and cloud solutions.
Peakboard easily passed the practical test at Prym. The project was then implemented within a few weeks. Hösch was supported in creating the templates by Peakboard. “The cooperation went very well”, emphasizes Hösch. “Even if there is still a need for support now, I usually get help within 24 hours”.

Application and Benefits

The open and completed workloads of the respective working day are displayed in bar charts. Every day, around 1,200 transport order dispositions are processed in the high-bay warehouse and around 9,000 in the picking area.
Peakboard logs on to the SAP system as a user every 90 seconds, runs the corresponding queries and then pulls the data onto the respective board. Prym uses a total of three monitors with two different templates. The employees in the high-bay warehouse and in the picking department are each informed about the respective workload via one monitor at the entrance to their area. The two templates from picking and high-bay warehouse are displayed alternately to the warehouse control center.
“A huge advantage for us is that we can control the processing of transport orders with Peakboard much more efficiently,” says Hösch. “With Peakboard, the control center can see instantly whether there are a large number of transport orders for replenishment, for example, and can accordingly deduct additional forklift drivers from goods receipt to goods replenishment. We can react much more flexibly to the respective situation.”
In addition, the approximately 40 employees from high-bay warehouses and order picking who are using the boards benefit from the newly gained transparency: they can see exactly where they are, what they have achieved and feel motivated to ‘set the orders on green’.

Success Story: Prym GroupLagertransparenz mit Peakboard

Der Kunde

Die Prym Group, gegründet 1530 als Firma zur Herstellung von Messing und Kupfer, ist das älteste industrielle Familienunternehmen Deutschlands. Kernkompetenz der in Stolberg ansässigen Unternehmensgruppe sind heute kreative Produkte für Handarbeit und Hobby, Verschluss-Systeme und Accessoires sowie hochpräzise elektromechanische Komponenten. Die Prym Group ist weltweit mit rund 3.300 Mitarbeitern an Standorten in Europa, Asien, Latein-/Nordamerika und Afrika vertreten. Die Gruppe umfasst die vier am Markt unabhängigen Segmente Prym Consumer, Prym Fashion, Prym Intimates und INOVAN. An der Spitze der Unternehmensgruppe steht die Prym Management-Holding.

Herausforderung

Den Menschen das Leben leichter machen: Das ist der Anspruch von Prym. Wie ein roter Faden ziehen sich Ideen durch die Unternehmensgeschichte, um diesem Anspruch gerecht zu werden – und das nicht nur in Richtung der Kunden, sondern auch in Richtung auf die eigenen Mitarbeiter: Eine Idee, wie man es den Staplerfahrern und Kommissionierern im Lager des Geschäftsbereichs Prym Consumer leichter machen kann, kam Oliver Fischer, Leiter der Logistik und des Warenzentrums, seinen Kollegen Charles Overtus, Operativer Leiter des Warenzentrums, und Tomas Hösch, zuständig für die Organisation und das Projektmanagement rund um SAP, im Rahmen eines Messebesuchs. "Wir sind eigentlich eher zufällig auf die All-in-One-Lösung Peakboard für die Daten- und Prozessvisualisierung gestoßen und haben sofort gedacht: Das ist etwas für uns, um direkt im Lager zu visualisieren, welche Transportaufträge bearbeitet sind bzw. noch bearbeitet werden müssen, wo ein Engpass besteht etc.", erzählt Hösch.
Bisher fehlte den Mitarbeitern im Lager nämlich die Transparenz hinsichtlich der aktuellen Arbeitslast. Sie wurden vom Leitstand eingesetzt, etwa um Warennachschub aus dem Hochregallager oder Wareneingang zu fahren oder zu kommissionieren, hatten aber selbst keinen Überblick über die aktuelle Situation. Aber auch der für die Einsatzplanung zuständige Leitstand konnte sich nur mit einigem Aufwand informieren, da das datenführende System SAP ERP, außer der Ausgabe von Tabellen, keine geeigneten und unkomplizierten Visualisierungsmöglichkeiten bot. "Da auch das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis stimmte, haben wir uns entschlossen, die Lösung im Praxiseinsatz zu prüfen", berichtet Hösch.

Lösung im Überblick

Herausforderung

Transparenz über die Arbeitslasten für Mitarbeiter in den Bereichen Hochregallager, Kommissionierung und Lagerleitstand.

Lösung

Einführung von Peakboard am Standort Alsdorf und Bereitstellung von Boards mit Informationen zu Transportaufträgen in den Bereichen Hochregallager und Kommissionierung über drei Monitore.

Vorteile

  • Grafische Visualisierung von SAP-Daten
  • Transparenz über Arbeitslasten für die Mitarbeiter in der Lagerhalle
  • Effizientere Planung der Arbeitseinsätze

Time to Value

Wenige Wochen für die Projektumsetzung von der Datenanbindung über die Erstellung der Boards bis hin zur Produktivsetzung.

Kontakt

Standort Stolberg

Prym Consumer Europe GmbH
Zweifaller Straße 130
52224 Stolberg

Telefon: +49 (0) 2402 14-2228
Telefax: +49 (0) 2402 14-2905
E-Mail: info@prym.com
Website: www.prym.com

Die Lösung

Mittels einer kostenlosen Teststellung konnte Prym sich zunächst in Ruhe davon überzeugen, ob mit Peakboard Prozesse, Informationen und Daten wirklich so einfach in Echtzeit visualisiert und für Mitarbeiter aller Bereiche prominent platziert werden können, wie Peakboard verspricht: Die All-in-One-Lösung besteht aus Soft- und Hardware, kombiniert in einer Smartphone-kleinen Aluminiumbox mit integriertem WLAN-Modul. Da jedes Peakboard die Daten selbstständig visualisiert, kann die Lösung ohne zentralen Server genutzt werden. Peakboard greift über WLAN oder LAN direkt auf eine Datenquelle zu, aggregiert die Daten für die Visualisierung und überträgt sie über ein HDMI-Kabel an den gewünschten (Groß-)Bildschirm. Mögliche Datenquellen reichen von Maschinen, Sensoren, ERP-Systemen wie SAP bis hin zu Excel und Cloud-Lösungen.
Den Praxistest bei Prym hat Peakboard mühelos bestanden. Die Projektumsetzung erfolgte dann binnen weniger Wochen. Unterstützt wurde Hösch bei der Erstellung der Templates von Peakboard. "Die Zusammenarbeit lief sehr gut", betont Hösch. "Auch wenn es jetzt noch Unterstützungsbedarf gibt, bekomme ich in der Regel binnen 24 Stunden Hilfe."

Einsatzbereich und Nutzen

Die offenen und erledigten Arbeitslasten des jeweiligen Arbeitstages werden in Balkendiagrammen abgebildet. Täglich werden rund 1.200 Transportauftragsdispositionen im Hochregallager und ca. 9.000 im Kommissionierbereich abgearbeitet.
Peakboard meldet sich alle 90 Sekunden als User im SAP-System an, lässt die entsprechenden Queries laufen und zieht die Daten dann auf das jeweilige Board. Insgesamt drei Monitore, die mit zwei unterschiedlichen Templates bespielt werden, sind bei Prym im Einsatz. Die Mitarbeiter im Hochregallager bzw. in der Kommissionierung informieren sich über je einen Monitor am Eingang ihres Bereiches über die jeweilige Arbeitslast. Dem Lagerleitstand werden die beiden Templates aus Kommissionierung und Hochregallager wechselnd angezeigt.
"Ein Riesenvorteil ist für uns, dass wir die Bearbeitung von Transportaufträgen mit Peakboard sehr viel effizienter steuern können", so Hösch. "Mit Peakboard sieht der Leitstand auf einen Blick, ob es zum Beispiel eine hohe Anzahl an Transportaufträgen zum Nachschub gibt und kann dementsprechend zusätzliche Staplerfahrer vom Wareneingang zum Warennachschub abziehen. Wir können viel flexibler auf die jeweilige Situation reagieren."
Zudem profitieren die rund 40 Mitarbeiter aus Hochregallager und Kommissionierung, die die Boards nutzen, von der neugewonnenen Transparenz: Sie sehen genau, wo sie stehen, was sie geleistet haben und fühlen sich motiviert, die Aufträge "auf grün zu setzen".