success story

so long, paper: Helmut Fischer
chooses digital shop-floor management.

Helmut Fischer GmbH

lösung im überblick.

industry

Electronics / Measurement Technology

departments

Logistics, Production, Quality Assurance, Purchasing

challenges

Process transparency in production and logistics; visualization for real-time monitoring of delivery reliability, quality, and costs, and early detection of possible disturbances at the regularly scheduled shop-floor meeting

solution

Real-time visualization of shop-floor data with Peakboard as a lean management tool

benefits

Simple, flexible, comprehensive | Standardized interfaces to various systems | Head-start advantage in terms of information thanks to real-time data with no programming required | Faster and more efficient response to errors | Higher employee motivation thanks to transparency about their own work performance 

time to value

Final shop-floor management solution achieved in a few short months 

the client

Helmut Fischer.

With some 800 employees worldwide, Helmut Fischer GmbH is a full-service supplier in the field of surface testing and has been developing precision instruments for surface measurements since 1953. The product range extends from handheld devices for the measurement of coating thickness in corrosion protection to XRF spectrometers and analysis to fully integrated systems in the electronics industry designed to monitor automated production.

challenge

outdated information, less transparency & lower performance.

Helmut Fischer’s shop-floor management is a key component in monitoring and improving its production and logistics. As part of its lean management strategy, the company continues to seek greater process transparency in both areas in order to catch potential problems and performance deficiencies before they occur. The visualization required for this is meant to play a decisive role at the regularly scheduled shop-floor meetings as a way of creating a shared understanding of the overall picture. In this way, those involved seek to monitor delivery reliability, quality, and costs in real time, and act on possible disruptions at an early stage.

The previous shop-floor solution does not visualize data in real time, with key performance indicators being recorded by hand on paper and thus not updated regularly. Outdated lists and a lack of transparency generally lead to lower performance levels, for example due to focusing on the wrong issues at the shop-floor meetings. Good decisions made based on this information are therefore not always the best ones. Keeping the metrics on the physical wall up to date involves great effort.

solution

digitally mapped production for faster and better decisions.

“We were looking for simple, flexible, and comprehensive options with standardized interfaces to various systems, especially SAP. And we wanted everything visualized in real time with no programming required,” said André Fimpel, who oversaw the project in his role as Head of Lean Management at Helmut Fischer. “After taking an extensive look around, we discovered that so far only Peakboard meets these requirements.” Helmut Fischer GmbH made use of the Stuttgart-based company’s three products: Peakboard Designer and Peakboard Box on the one hand for visualizing existing machine data. Peakboard Edge on the other for displaying signals from factory operations, for example via switches, and playing them out through other external devices.

“Only Peakboard met our requirements for standardized interfaces to various systems, especially SAP, as well as the visualization of shop-floor data in real time and with no programming required.”
André Fimpel, Head of Lean Management, Helmut Fischer GmbH 

The visualization of the measuring instrument manufacturer’s data has the following setup: five shop-floor monitors on the team level and one monitor on the department level, each with a 46-inch touchscreen. All monitors are located in strategic places throughout the production facility so that teams and departments do not have to go far.

The monitors are connected via LAN to SAP, Excel spreadsheets, and an SQL server to collect progress data. In addition, employees use a rotary knob to transmit information about their tugger trains, which make trips several times a day to supply materials to the individual production areas. Helmut Fischer updates the collected information by feeding it into an SQL database in order to map the data history and to view trends. The teams are divided up according to production steps and a traffic-light system informs them when delays occur. Team members can immediately call up the details with just a single click.

The following information and processes are visualized:

Before deciding to purchase, André Fimpel tested the free Peakboard Designer. Helmut Fischer GmbH created the first dashboard on its own. “With some basic technical know-how and a little support from the internal SAP team and Peakboard, we did a good job,” said Fimpel. “We first had to understand the SAP structure to get to the data we were looking for. At the beginning, we performed a longer test with a daily check to clarify detailed questions: What data do we really need, and what don’t we need? That was a valuable, facilitated process.”

The team critically assessed the system’s reliability at first, as well as the costs and the IT resources needed to implement and maintain the solution. According to Fimpel, “We quickly realized the benefits of the first application, and the data is generated with practically no effort on our part. That alone made Peakboard worth it. The excellent support also ensured high performance.”

result

real-time information for surprising insights and greater efficiency.

The company initially supplied just one team with real-time data as a test. “We noticed right away that they see things the others don’t, such as the status quo of orders, incorrect bookings, deadline discrepancies, and much more. The team with the new solution had an advantage in terms of information, which made it possible for them to take steps quickly so that our customers received their product on time and with the customary Fischer quality,” said Fimpel, describing the initial experience.

Errors in data consistency, for example, due to incorrect area specifications, are now transparent as well, and all areas—Production, Purchasing, Logistics, PPS, LEAN—share the same overall picture of the situation. One particular “aha” moment occurred when orders that had been physically completed, but which were still listed as open in the system, became transparent. Right after going live for the first time, the team saw that an order that was actually finished had not yet been scanned as completed. Another example was an order flagged as red order that suddenly became visible as being in progress at workstation A, although it had been posted to workstation B. Discovering this at a later date would have caused major problems with inventory and pricing, among other things, resulting in subsequent costs.

“Ever since the solution was implemented, the issues on the shop floor have now become clearly focused on the specific challenges, and we are much faster when it comes to resolving them. The urgency of a case, such as a missing part, now depends entirely on its importance, making it an objective matter. This has also helped us to further develop our error-correction culture, as we can now identify error chains in real time and easily break them,” said Fimpel. “Even when faced with looming bottlenecks, we are now responding faster, and we are managing to plan capacities more accurately, ensure greater delivery reliability, and utilize our capacities better. Our decisions have become swifter and more targeted ever since we began visualizing our production processes. Dealing with challenges transparently and based on facts means that employees better understand decisions and accept the solution very well.”

future

quite lean.

Helmut Fischer is already thinking about using more visualizations. The Purchasing department, for example, could improve its milk-run performance by knowing exactly what parts are urgently needed. Data on open orders, due dates, and workload would help to pick logistics, while Peakboard’s solution in shipping logistics could visualize the organization of shipments, degree of urgency, and pick-up dates.

sounds interesting?
find further success stories herer.

success story

papier adé: Helmut Fischer setzt
auf digitales shopfloor management.

Helmut Fischer GmbH

lösung im überblick.

branche

Elektronik / Messtechnik

abteilungen

Logistik, Produktion, Qualitätssicherung, Einkauf

herausforderungen

Prozesstransparenz in der Produktion und Logistik; Visualisierung zur Echtzeit-Überwachung von Liefertreue, Qualität und Kosten und frühzeitiger Erkennung möglicher Störgrößen im Shopfloor-Regelmeeting

lösung

Echtzeit-Visualisierung der Shopfloor-Daten mit Peakboard als Lean Management Tool

vorteile

Einfach, flexibel, umfassend | standardisierte Schnittstellen zu diversen Systemen | Informationsvorsprung durch Echtzeitdaten ohne Programmieraufwand | Schnellere und effizientere Reaktion auf Fehler | Höhere Motivation der Mitarbeiter durch Transparenz über die eigene Arbeitsleistung 

time to value

wenige Monate bis zur finalen Shopfloor Management Lösung 

der kunde

Helmut Fischer.

Die Helmut Fischer GmbH ist mit weltweit rund 800 Mitarbeitern ein Komplettanbieter im Bereich Oberflächenprüfung und entwickelt seit 1953 Präzisionsinstrumente für Oberflächenmessungen. Das Sortiment reicht von Handgeräten für die Schichtdickenmessung im Korrosionsschutz über XRF-Spektrometer und -Analyse bis hin zu voll integrierten Anlagen in der Elektronikindustrie, die automatisiert die Produktion überwachen.

herausforderung

veraltete informationen, weniger transparenz, geringere leistung.

Das Shopfloor-Management von Helmut Fischer ist ein wesentlicher Baustein zur Überwachung und Verbesserung seiner Produktion und Logistik. Das Unternehmen strebt im Rahmen seiner Lean-Management-Strategie weiter nach Transparenz seiner Prozesse in beiden Bereichen, um mögliche Probleme und Leistungsverluste im Vorfeld abzufangen. Die dafür notwendige Visualisierung soll im Shopfloor-Regelmeeting eine zentrale Rolle dabei spielen, ein gemeinsames Verständnis zu schaffen. Die Beteiligten wollen so Liefertreue, Qualität und Kosten in Echtzeit überwachen und mögliche Störgrößen frühzeitig beeinflussen.

Die bisherige Shopfloor-Lösung visualisiert Daten nicht in Echtzeit, Kennzahlen werden per Hand in Papierform und daher nicht regelmäßig aktualisiert. Veraltete Listen und mangelnde Transparenz führen allgemein zu einer niedrigeren Leistung, etwa durch einen ungeeigneten Themenfokus in den Shopfloor-Meetings. Im Zuge dessen entstehen nicht immer optimale Bauchentscheidungen. Es ist sehr aufwendig, die Kennzahlen an der physischen Wand aktuell zu halten.

lösung

digital abgebildete produktion
für schnellere und bessere entscheidungen.

„Wir suchten einfache, flexible und umfassende Möglichkeiten mit standardisierten Schnittstellen zu diversen Systemen, insbesondere SAP. Das alles in Echtzeit und ohne Programmierung“, nennt André Fimpel, der als Leiter Lean Management bei Helmut Fischer für das Projekt verantwortlich war, die Bedingungen. „Diese Anforderungen erfüllt, wie wir nach langer Recherche feststellten, bisher nur Peakboard.“ Die Helmut Fischer GmbH griff auf die drei Produkte des Stuttgarter Unternehmens zurück: zum einen Peakboard Designer und Box für die Visualisierung von bestehenden Maschinendaten. Zum anderen Peakboard Edge, um Signale aus dem Fabrikgeschehen, zum Beispiel über Taster, darstellen und über andere externe Geräte wieder ausspielen zu können.

„Unsere Anforderungen nach standardisierten Schnittstellen zu diversen Systemen, insbesondere SAP, sowie die Visualisierung der Shopfloor-Daten in Echtzeit und ohne Programmierung erfüllte nur Peakboard.“
André Fimpel, Leiter Lean Management, Helmut Fischer GmbH 

Die Datenvisualisierung des Messinstrumente-Herstellers hat folgenden Aufbau: fünf Shopfloor-Monitore auf Teamebene und ein Monitor auf Abteilungsebene, jeweils mit 46-Zoll-Touchscreen. Alle Monitore befinden sich in der Produktion an strategischen Orten, sodass Teams und Abteilungen kurze Wege haben.

Die Monitore sind über LAN mit SAP, Excel-Tabellen und einem SQL-Server verbunden, um Fortschrittsdaten zu erfassen. Zusätzlich übermitteln Mitarbeiter mithilfe eines Drehknopfes Informationen über ihre täglich mehrmals stattfindenden Routenzüge zur Materialversorgung der einzelnen Produktionsbereiche. Helmut Fischer schreibt die ermittelten Informationen in eine SQL-Datenbank fort, um die Historie abzubilden und Entwicklungen zu sehen. Die nach Produktionsschritten aufgeteilten Teams erfahren über ein Ampelsystem, wenn Verzögerungen auftreten. Nach einem Klick sehen sie sofort die Details.

Folgende Informationen und Prozesse werden visualisiert:

Vor der Kaufentscheidung testete André Fimpel den kostenlosen Peakboard Designer. Das erste Dashboard erstellte die Helmut Fischer GmbH selbstständig. „Mit einem technischen Grundverständnis und ein wenig Support vom internen SAP-Team und Peakboard haben wir das gut geschafft“, so Fimpel. „Wir mussten zunächst die SAP-Struktur verstehen, um an die von uns gesuchten Daten zu gelangen. Zu Beginn haben wir einen längeren Test durchgeführt mit einem täglichen Check, um Detailfragen zu klären: Welche Daten brauchen wir wirklich, welche nicht? Das war ein wertvoller, moderierter Prozess.“

Anfangs wurde die Zuverlässigkeit des Systems kritisch geprüft, ebenso die Kosten und die IT-seitig benötigten Ressourcen für Implementierung und Pflege. Fimpel: „Der Nutzen der ersten Anwendung konnte dann schnell überzeugen und die Datengenerierung verläuft praktisch ohne Aufwand. Allein dadurch hat sich Peakboard gelohnt. Der gute Support sorgte darüber hinaus für die hohe Performanz.“

ergebnis

echtzeit-informationen für überraschende einsichten
und mehr effizienz.

Das Unternehmen stattete anfangs testweise lediglich ein Team mit Echtzeit-Daten aus. „Dort haben wir gleich gemerkt: Die sehen Dinge, die die anderen nicht sehen, etwa den Status quo der Aufträge, falsche Buchungen, Abweichungen von Terminen und vieles mehr. Das Team mit der neuen Lösung hatte einen Informationsvorsprung. So konnte es schnell Maßnahmen einleiten, damit unsere Kunden ihr Produkt pünktlich und in der gewohnten Fischer-Qualität bekommen“, schildert Fimpel die ersten Erfahrungen.

Fehler in der Datenkonsistenz, etwa durch falsche Bereichsangaben, sind jetzt ebenfalls transparent und alle Bereiche – Produktion, Einkauf, Logistik, PPS, LEAN – haben ein gemeinsames Bild. Ein besonderer Aha-Effekt entstand, als physisch abgeschlossene, aber im System noch offene Aufträge transparent wurden. Direkt nach dem ersten Live-Schalten sah das Team, dass ein eigentlich fertiger Auftrag noch nicht als fertig gescannt war. Ein anderer Fall war ein rot markierter Auftrag, bei dem plötzlich sichtbar wird, dass er am Arbeitsplatz A läuft, aber auf Arbeitsplatz B gebucht wurde. Eine spätere Entdeckung hätte erhebliche Probleme unter anderem bei der Inventur und der Preiskalkulation bereitet und damit Folgekosten verursacht.

„Seit der Implementierung fokussieren sich die Themen im Shopfloor klar auf die konkreten Herausforderungen und wir sind deutlich schneller bei ihrer Lösung. Die Dringlichkeit eines Falles, etwa das Fehlen eines Teils, hängt jetzt ausschließlich von seiner Bedeutung ab. Er wird dadurch objektiv. Das hat uns auch bei der Weiterentwicklung unserer Fehlerkultur geholfen, da wir Fehlerketten jetzt in Echtzeit erkennen und einfach unterbrechen können“, erklärt Fimpel. „Schon bei drohenden Engpässen reagieren wir schneller und es gelingt eine exaktere Kapazitätsplanung, eine größere Liefertreue und eine bessere Auslastung. Unsere Entscheidungen sind schneller und zielführender, seitdem wir die Abläufe unserer Produktion visualisieren. Der transparente und faktenbasierte Umgang mit Herausforderungen sorgt dafür, dass die Mitarbeiter Entscheidungen besser nachvollziehen können und die Lösung sehr gut annehmen.“

zukunft

ganz schön lean.

Helmut Fischer denkt bereits über den Einsatz weiterer Visualisierungen nach. So könnte der Einkauf durch die genaue Kenntnis dringend benötigte Teile seine Milkrun Performance verbessern. Der Kommissionier-Logistik helfen Daten zu offenen Aufträgen, Fälligkeiten und Arbeitslast und in der Versand-Logistik kann die Lösung von Peakboard die Organisation der Sendungen, Dringlichkeiten und Abholtermine visualisieren.

interesse geweckt?
weitere success stories
findest du hier.