Success Story

Improving the flow of
faucet production.

Aquis Systems

Sanitary technology | Production

Challenges

Get information about quantity and quality to the employees at the right time

Solution

Extraction of data from SQL database for real-time information on output, defect rates and defect types

Advantages

  • Fast implementation
  • Higher motivation of employees through transparency of their work performance
  • Transparent and automated data preparation

Time to value

One working day for the creation of the first dashboard and integration into the system

The customer

Aquis Systems.

Based in Rebstein, Switzerland, Aquis Systems AG is an OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) that develops and manufactures electronic solutions for sanitary installations in the public and commercial sectors, from complete electronic faucets to water management systems. Components for hydraulics sensorics/electronics, communication (APP to IoT) are also part of the scope of services. Founded in 1995, the company employs a staff of 300 at three locations.

read more
„After just a few brief discussions with Peakboard and watching a few online videos that they provided, I was able to design the interface myself without any help from the Peakboard team, down to being able to integrate our corporate identity.”
Denis Maljkovic, Head of Production and Industrialization at Aquis

Challenge

A bloated excel spreadsheet and severe time delays.

At each of the 15 production stations, a maximum of three skilled workers install sensor-controlled faucets by hand. Each station has a tester that inspects electrical and mechanical components, leak tightness, and the software and hardware of the end product and then transfers the results to an SQL database. The tester then imports the data into an Excel spreadsheet for analysis to optimize processes and improve quality. This is how the company obtains information on statistics such as the production error rate and the output quantity at the end of the day.

“Instead waiting until after a shift to know how much we have produced, we want to know this during the shift so that we can respond earlier,” says Denis Maljkovic, Head of Production and Industrialization at Aquis. “On top of that, Excel-based shop floor management in the morning simply takes too much time. Given the amount of data, an update can sometimes take up to half an hour. The subsequent analysis is also time-consuming because we first have to create the right view. This is where we quickly come up against the limits of our programming skills.”

In some cases, the process may take several hours because the volume of data rapidly increases. Communicating up-to-date information about unit counts and quality to employees soon enough is impossible. Maljkovic has to delegate or automate because his capacities are exhausted.

read more

Solution

Operational excellence platform.

Maljkovic’s team was able to make two mechanical problems in the inspection process transparent immediately at the start. The previous method reported some manufacturing elements as defective, even though they were not.

The main benefit, though, is a significant increase in the speed of data preparation and the quality of the information.

“What took hours before is now done in real time and is automated,” Maljkovic sums up.

This improves communication with other departments, including those that are only sporadically involved in shop floor management, such as internal sales or executive management. All in all, interest in the order status has increased noticeably since real-time information about production is available.

“Now we communicate very efficiently about why there are which defect rates for which defect types – software, hardware, or mechanical. Information is clearer. Before that, it was all on paper. Going into great detail there was complicated. Now we can clearly show what we are talking about directly on the dashboard without printing it out,”says Maljkovic.

The evaluations provide a common basis for everyone involved so that targeted optimization measures can be identified efficiently while increasing their acceptance.

read more

Result

Real-time and historical data.

In an initial workshop lasting around four hours, a dashboard was created and then tested in the day-to-day operation.

“We immediately ran the initial draft in real time to see whether the data was correct,” says Maljkovic. “The productive collaboration was key in helping us build a well-developed dashboard very quickly.”

In a second workshop, Aquis and Peakboard used the findings from the testing phase to finalize the details.

The dashboards visualize daily, weekly, monthly, annual, and real-time output for each location. Along with output, the dashboards show the current orders per production station and the level of achievement, including pass/fail inspections. The company can view the status quo of all production stations as a whole. Plus, it can also analyze each production station in depth to reflect on performance with its team and quality managers. Peakboard’s operational excellence platform accesses the SQL database directly to extract the previously defined data defined.

read more

Future

Data analysis on all production sites.

In the future, Aquis will visualize additional information about each of its production stations, for example. with an Andon Board that displays material availability. Right now, employees still trigger the signal for a material shortage manually, at which point a warehouse worker delivers the goods. This can take several minutes. To decrease this margin, Aquis will first measure the downtime caused by material shortages.

The next step is to show quality at the level of a specific component. Maljkovic explains,

“We now have a lot of ideas on how to digitally record our production, which we are gradually specifying and implementing. Our initial experiences have made us get creative.”

Although the SQL database records data from every location, visualization is currently only available in Switzerland. Yet as soon as all the necessary information has been compiled there, Aquis will also set up Peakboard dashboards at its other locations.

read more

Discover more

Interest aroused?

“For me, digitization also means generating real added value from existing data. And that’s exactly what we are doing with Peakboard: We provide employees with the information they really need in their daily routine – in a simple manner and exactly where they are needed, whether in the office, in the factory hall or on the forklift.”

Christian Leins, Head of Software Development at Bizerba

Bizerba SE & Co KG

Bizerba SE & Co. KG
“The effects have been consistently positive. The overall effectiveness of production has increased, and our planning is more accurate. Our processes have also been significantly accelerated thanks to the MES functions. Our teams are even more motivated than before, and they are really leaning into the friendly competition to achieve the goals.”

Mityo Dryankov, Director Maintenance, Innovations and Technology at Bon EOOD.

Bon EOOD

Bon EOOD
„From the first minute the employees loved Peakboard and the visualization. They are much more motivated because they see the daily goals and workload. More transparency in the whole company.“

Jordan Marlin, Manager Operational Technology, Industry 4.0 Engineering at BWI Group

BWI Group

BeijingWest Industries (BWI Group)
“We were able to set up the dashboard so that we could self-manage it: We downloaded the Peakboard Designer, chose the components to be displayed, and then configured and set up the Peakboard Box. This was a simple task due to our knowledge of automation structures. There was also a lot of learning by doing, which was fun. We were able to put the first implementations into live operation after just a week.”

Ralph Sagberger, Head of Organization & Production at Corratec

Corratec

Corratec
„With Peakboard, information is now quickly and transparently available right where it is needed.“

Sandra Schubert, Process Optimization at GBA Group

GBA Group

GBA Group
“Only Peakboard met our requirements for standardized interfaces to various systems, especially SAP, as well as the visualization of shop-floor data in real-time and with no programming required.”

André Fimpel, Head of Lean Management at Helmut Fischer GmbH

Helmut Fischer GmbH

Helmut Fischer GmbH
“We like the easy usability of the Peakboard Designer and that complex designs can still be created with LUA. The excellent support from Peakboard and the speed with which new functions are implemented is clearly worthy of mention.”

Marc-Philip Stüttern, Head of IT at Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG

Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co KG

Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG
“By using Peakboard we have become faster and more precise in our processes. The newly gained transparency also reveals further potential for process optimization, which we will gradually exploit.”

Björn Mutschler, Head of Production at Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH

Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH

Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH
“With Peakboard, we have achieved efficiency through greater transparency. Employees can see at a glance right from their workplace what the current status is and can steer their work steps accordingly.”

Oliver Herz, Head of Application Development at MUNSCH-Group

Munsch Plastic Welding Technology

Munsch Plastic Welding Technology
„We needed a centralized display of current production data on an andon-board to take the next big step toward operational excellence. Employees should be able to see the status of their plant in real time: What is running on my machine right here, right now? The solution selected also had to be able to become the standard in our group to avoid having to work with a large number of different systems.“

Mario Pichler, Head of Automation at Pankl Racing Systems Inc.

Pankl Racing System AG

Pankl Racing Systems AG

Get started right away!

Peakboard now
test free of charge.

Scroll to Top

Success Story

Damit die Produktion von Wasserhähnen besser fließt.

Aquis Systems

Sanitärtechnik | Produktion

Herausforderungen

Informationen über Stückzahlen und Qualität rechtzeitig an die Mitarbeiter bringen

Lösung

Extrahierung der Daten aus SQL-Datenbank für Echtzeit Informationen über Output, Fehlerraten und Fehlerarten

Vorteile

  • Schnelle Implementierung
  • Höhere Motivation der Mitarbeiter durch Transparenz über die eigene Arbeitsleistung
  • Transparente und automatisierte Datenaufbereitung und dadurch eine bessere Entscheidungsgrundlage

Time to value

Einen Arbeitstag für die Erstellung des ersten Dashboards und Einbindung in das System

Der Kunde

Aquis Systems.

Die Aquis Systems AG aus dem schweizerischen Rebstein entwickelt und produziert als führender OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) elektronische Lösungen für die Sanitärtechnik des öffentlichen und gewerblichen Bereichs, von kompletten elektronischen Armaturen bis zum Wasser Management System. Komponenten für Hydraulik Sensorik/Elektronik, Kommunikation (APP bis IoT) gehören ebenfalls zum Leistungsumfang. Das 1995 gegründete Unternehmen beschäftigt an drei Standorten insgesamt 300 Mitarbeitende.

mehr lesen
„Nach ein paar kurzen Gesprächen mit Peakboard und dem Ansehen von zur Verfügung gestellten Online-Videos konnte ich die Oberfläche ohne Hilfe des Peakboard Teams selbst gestalten, bis hin zur Integration unserer Corporate Identity.“
Denis Maljkovic, Head of Production and Industrialization bei Aquis

Herausforderung

Eine sich aufblähende Excel-Tabelle und starke Zeitverzögerungen.

An 15 Inseln montieren jeweils maximal drei Fachkräfte sensorgesteuerte Wasserhähne per Hand. Zu jeder Insel gehört ein Tester, der elektrische und mechanische Komponenten, Dichtheit sowie Soft- und Hardware des Endproduktes prüft und die Resultate in eine SQL-Datenbank überführt. Anschließend importiert er die Daten in eine Excel-Tabelle, um sie mit dem Ziel zu analysieren, Prozesse zu optimieren und die Qualität zu steigern. So gewinnt das Unternehmen zum Beispiel Informationen über die Fehlproduktionsrate und am Ende eines Tages über die Outputmenge.

„Wir wollen nicht erst nach einer Schicht wissen, wie viel wir produziert haben, sondern bereits währenddessen, um früh reagieren zu können“, sagt Denis Maljkovic, Head of Production and Industrialization bei Aquis. „Darüber hinaus ist ein Excel-basiertes morgendliches Shopfloor Management zu aufwändig. Aufgrund der Datenmenge dauert eine Aktualisierung teilweise bis zu einer halben Stunde. Die Auswertung ist daraufhin ebenfalls zeitintensiv, da wir zunächst die richtige Ansicht erstellen müssen. Da stoßen wir schnell an die Grenzen unserer Programmierkenntnisse.“

Zum Teil beansprucht der Vorgang mehrere Stunden, da die Datenmenge rasant zunimmt. Es ist unmöglich, aktuelle Informationen über Stückzahlen und Qualität rechtzeitig an die Mitarbeitenden zu kommunizieren. Maljkovic muss delegieren oder automatisieren, da seine Kapazitäten ausgeschöpft sind.

mehr lesen

Lösung

Operational Excellence Plattform.

Das Team von Maljkovic kann direkt zu Beginn des Einsatzes zwei mechanische Probleme im Prüfablauf transparent machen: Die bisherige Methode zeigte einzelne Fertigungselemente als fehlerhaft an, die tatsächlich nicht fehlerhaft waren.

Vor allem aber erhöhen sich die Geschwindigkeit der Datenaufbereitung und die Qualität der Informationen deutlich.

„Was vorher Stunden dauerte, geschieht jetzt in Echtzeit und automatisiert“, fasst Maljkovic zusammen.

Das erleichtert die Kommunikation mit anderen Abteilungen, darunter auch jene, die nur sporadisch in das Shopfloormanagement eingebunden sind, etwa Verkaufsinnendienst oder Geschäftsführung. Insgesamt ist das Interesse am Auftragsstatus spürbar gestiegen, seitdem Echtzeit-Informationen über die Produktion verfügbar sind.

„Wir sprechen jetzt sehr effizient darüber, warum es welche Fehlerraten bei welchen Fehlerarten gibt – Software, Hardware oder Mechanik. Die Informationen sind klarer. Vorher fand das alles auf Papier statt. Es war umständlich, dort in die Tiefe zu gehen. Jetzt können wir ohne Ausdruck direkt auf dem Dashboard deutlich zeigen, worum es geht“, so Maljkovic.

Die Auswertungen sorgen für eine gemeinsame Basis aller Beteiligten, um gezielte Optimierungsmaßnahmen effizient zu identifizieren und ihre Akzeptanz zu erhöhen.

mehr lesen

Ergebnis

Echtzeit- und historische Daten.

In einem ersten rund vierstündigen Workshop entsteht ein Dashboard für einen anschließenden Test im betrieblichen Alltag.

„Gleich den ersten Entwurf haben wir in Echtzeit laufen lassen, um zu prüfen, ob die Daten stimmen“, sagt Maljkovic. „Die produktive Zusammenarbeit hat wesentlich dazu beigetragen, dass wir sehr schnell ein weit entwickeltes Dashboard erstellen konnten.“

Dem schließt sich ein zweiter Workshop an, auf dem Aquis und Peakboard die Erkenntnisse aus der Testphase nutzen, um die Details zu finalisieren.

Die Dashboards visualisieren für alle Standorte den täglichen, wöchentlichen, monatlichen, jährlichen und Echtzeit-Output. Neben dem Output zeigen die Dashboards die aktuellen Aufträge pro Insel an und deren Erreichungsgrad inklusive Gut- und Schlechtprüfungen. Das Unternehmen kann den Status quo aller Inseln insgesamt einsehen. Zusätzlich ist es möglich, auch einzelne Inseln in der Tiefe zu analysieren, um mit dem jeweiligen Team und den Qualitätsverantwortlichen die Performance zu reflektieren. Die Operational Excellence Plattform von Peakboard greift dabei direkt auf die SQL-Datenbank zu, um die zuvor definierten Daten zu extrahieren.

mehr lesen

Zukunft

Datenanalyse an allen Standorten.

Aquis wird zukünftig weitere Informationen über ihre einzelnen Inseln visualisieren, etwa durch ein Andon Board, das die Materialverfügbarkeit anzeigt. Derzeit lösen die Mitarbeitenden das Signal für einen Mangel noch manuell aus, woraufhin ein Lagerist die Ware anliefert. Das kann mehrere Minuten dauern. Um diese Spanne zu verringern, wird Aquis zunächst die Stillstandzeit aufgrund von Materialmangel messen.
Ein weiterer Schritt ist die Darstellung der Qualität auf der Ebene eines bestimmten Bauteils. Maljkovic:

„Wir haben inzwischen sehr viele Ideen für die digitale Erfassung unserer Produktion, die wir sukzessive konkretisieren und umsetzen. Die ersten Erfahrungen haben uns kreativ werden lassen.“

Die SQL-Datenbank erfasst zwar Daten aus allen Standorten, eine Visualisierung gibt es derzeit jedoch ausschließlich in der Schweiz. Sobald dort alle benötigten Informationen einmal aufbereitet worden sind, richtet Aquis auch an seinen anderen Standorten Dashboards von Peakboard ein.

mehr lesen

Mehr endecken

Interesse geweckt?

„Digitalisierung heißt für mich auch, aus bestehenden Daten einen echten Mehrwert generieren. Und genau das machen wir mit Peakboard: Wir stellen den Mitarbeitern die Informationen bereit, die sie in ihrem Alltag auch wirklich benötigen – auf einfache Weise und genau an dem Ort, wo sie benötigt werden, ob im Büro, in der Werkshalle oder auf dem Stapler.“

Christian Leins, Leiter der Softwareentwicklung bei Bizerba

Bizerba SE & Co. KG

Bizerba SE & Co. KG
„Die Auswirkungen waren durchweg positiv. Die Gesamteffektivität der Produktion ist gestiegen und unsere Planungen sind genauer.Unsere Prozesse haben sich außerdem durch die MES-Funktionen deutlich beschleunigt. Unsere Teams sind noch motivierter als vorher und entwickeln sportlichen Ehrgeiz, die Ziele zu erreichen.“

Mityo Dryankov, Director Maintenance, Innovations and Technology bei Bon EOOD.

Bon EOOD

Bon EOOD
„Der Einsatz von Peakboard hat unsere Qualität verbessert, Effizienz erhöht und Mitarbeitende motiviert. Die Implementierung verlief denkbar schnell. Insgesamt war es ein kleiner Schritt mit großer Wirkung.“

Jordan Marlin, Manager Operational Technology, Industry 4.0 Engineering bei BWI

BWI Group

BeijingWest Industries (BWI Group)
„Das Dashboard haben wir in Eigenregie erstellt: Download des Peakboard Designers, Wahl der anzuzeigenden Komponenten, Bestellung und Einrichtung der Peakboard Box. Mit Kenntnis der Strukturen der Automatisierung war das einfach. Es gab auch viel Learning by Doing und es hat Spaß gemacht“, so Sagberger. „Die ersten Umsetzungen konnten bereits nach einer Woche in Betrieb gehen.“

Ralph Sagberger, Leiter Organisation & Produktion bei Corratec

Corratec

Corratec
„Mit Peakboard sind Informationen jetzt schnell und transparent direkt dort verfügbar, wo sie gebraucht und gesehen werden.“

Sandra Schubert, Prozessoptimierung bei GBA Laborgruppe

GBA Laborgruppe

GBA Laborgruppe
„Unsere Anforderungen nach standardisierten Schnittstellen zu diversen Systemen, insbesondere SAP, sowie die Visualisierung der Shopfloor-Daten in Echtzeit und ohne Programmierung erfüllte nur Peakboard.“

André Fimpel, Leiter Lean Management bei Helmut Fischer GmbH

Helmut Fischer GmbH

Helmut Fischer GmbH
„Uns gefällt die einfache Bedienung des Peakboard Designers und dass sich trotzdem mit LUA komplexe Designs erstellen lassen. Ganz klar hervorzuheben ist der erstklassige Support seitens Peakboard und die Geschwindigkeit, mit der neue Funktionen implementiert werden.“

Marc-Philip Stüttern, Leiter IT bei Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG

Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG

Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG
„Durch den Einsatz von Peakboard sind wir schneller und präziser in unseren Prozessen geworden. Durch die neu gewonnene Transparenz wird zudem weiteres Potenzial für Prozessoptimierungen sichtbar, das wir nach und nach nutzen werden.“

Björn Mutschler, Produktionsleiter bei Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH

Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH

Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH
„Mit Peakboard haben wir Effizienz durch mehr Transparenz erreicht. Die Mitarbeiter können mit einem Blick direkt am Arbeitsplatz erfassen, wie der aktuelle Status ist und ihre Arbeitsschritte entsprechend lenken.“

Oliver Herz, Leiter der Anwendungsentwicklung bei MUNSCH-Unternehmensgruppe

MUNSCH Kunststoff-Schweißtechnik GmbH

MUNSCH Kunststoff-Schweißtechnik GmbH
„Wir brauchten eine zentrale Darstellung der aktuellen Produktionsdaten auf einem Andon Board, um den nächsten großen Schritt zur Operational Excellence zu gehen. Mitarbeiter sollten in Echtzeit den Status ihrer Anlage sehen können: Was läuft hier und jetzt auf meiner Maschine? Die auszuwählende Lösung sollte außerdem zum Standard in unserem Konzern werden können, um nicht mit einer großen Anzahl verschiedener Systeme zu arbeiten.“

Mario Pichler, Head of Automation bei Pankl Racing Systems AG

Pankl Racing System AG

Pankl Racing Systems AG

Lege direkt los!

Peakboard jetzt
kostenlos testen.

Nach oben scrollen

Nichts mehr verpassen!

Peakboard Newsletter.