Success Story

See what is important with Peakboard.

Bizerba SE & Co. KG

Metal industry and processing | IT, logistics, production

Challenges

Visual monitoring of functional errors in applications or data transfers between systems, display of information from different systems for forklift drivers

Solution

Implementation of Peakboard for information visualization on Touchpads, displays in the production hall and displays in the office

Advantages

  • Direct information availability on the forklift via touchpad
  • Faster response to application errors or data transfer problems
  • Sustainable optimization of IT processes through permanent process transparency

Time to value

About 8 hours to productive use of a first dashboard with Peakboard

The customer

Bizerba SE & Co KG.

Bizerba offers customers in the trade, commerce, industry and logistics sectors a globally unique solution portfolio consisting of hardware and software around the central variable “weight”. The range includes products and solutions for cutting, processing, weighing, cashing, checking, commissioning and labelling. Consulting, service, labels, consumables and leasing complete the solution spectrum. The headquarters of the group of companies, which has been family-run for five generations and has around 4,100 employees worldwide, is Balingen in Baden-Württemberg. Further production facilities are in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, Spain, China and the USA. Bizerba also maintains a worldwide network of sales and service locations in 120 countries worldwide.

 

read more
“For me, digitization also means generating real added value from existing data. And that’s exactly what we are doing with Peakboard: We provide employees with the information they really need in their daily routine – in a simple manner and exactly where they are needed, whether in the office, in the factory hall or on the forklift.”
Christian Leins, Head of Software Development at Bizerba

Challenge

More clarity in logistics.

Over the years a very diversified IT system landscape has developed at Bizerba. In addition to SAP ERP, Microsoft Dynamics CRM and a self-developed solution for field service, this includes numerous special applications.

“However, we in IT did not catch on fast enough if something was not running properly somewhere – whether, for example, an application error occurred or a data transfer between the systems was interrupted. We could only become active when a user opened a ticket – and then had to chase after the issues. We wanted to change that,”

explains Christian Leins, head of software development at Bizerba. Leins was not interested in classic IT monitoring of CPU utilisation and similar performance data:

“I wanted to know what was running – and what wasn’t – based on data in various application databases. Using log file analyses, I also wanted to see directly where an application or an interface has an error. Only in this way can we not only take quick action, but also continuously optimize systems and processes.”

But Leins was not the only one who wanted more insight: The logistics department at one of the Bizerba locations had the idea of equipping forklift trucks with a touch screen, via which the forklift driver can display information from different systems – for example about orders.

read more

Solution

Ready to go,
in under eight hours.

Leins rejected the idea of self-development as well as the use of powerful solutions – instead he was enthusiastic about Peakboard, an all-in-one solution for simple corporate digital signage. “We knew the development qualities of the team behind Peakboard through its former holding company Theobald Software, from which we use ERPConnect,” explains Leins. “It was clear that behind Peakboard lies IT intelligence and competence. After a free trial I was really impressed by the straightforward creation of the dashboards”.

A first IT management dashboard was ready to run quickly – after only eight hours the head of software development could see how things were going at Bizerba in terms of applications and data transfers.

Leins received professional and committed help in the further development of the solution from Peakboard. According to Leins the support works perfectly:

“When I write an email, a qualified answer is usually available within half an hour.”

read more

Result

Many cases, one solution.

In the meantime, three Peakboard Boxes are in use at Bizerba: The IT management dashboard runs in Lein’s office.

“I always have an eye on the running applications and interfaces. This is also very practical when talking to my employees – we can immediately discuss who must take care of which issue. We also see directly how many tickets are open, which new tickets have been added, whether they are errors or requests. It’ s all always there – in real-time. I don’t have to retrieve the information first, I receive the information on different screens at any time.”

The forklift information dashboard visualizes SAP, counter and webcam data. In defined cycles, the forklift driver is shown when he must empty containers, for example, at which point in production. The quantity of orders or which articles must be put into and removed from storage is also displayed. Via a live stream from the webcam on the delivery ramp he can see when a truck arrives and can drive to the ramp immediately. In addition, supervisors or production employees can send messages to the forklift driver. “We used Peakboard’s integrated web service for the implementation in the form of a small application,” adds Leins.

Another “case for Peakboard” resulted from a lean management initiative of a site: Peakboard displays in the production hall via a large, centrally located monitor how many minutes a production step may take before the workpiece is moved to the next workstation. The remaining time is indicated by color shading. The total output, the error rate, the weekly schedule and the daily routine are also displayed. Supervisors can control the display via centrally stored Excel files, which Peakboard accesses at intervals of a few minutes. If, for example, a machine failure occurs, the time display can be paused simply by clicking the mouse.

read more

Future

Big plans for Peakboard.

Bizerba already has plans for further Peakboard scenarios. For example, a complete production line at one of the Bizerba locations from incoming goods to outgoing goods will be visualized with Peakboard. The technical support will use Peakboard for team management, data from the call centre system, CRM and the field service information system will be displayed here. Another Peakboard Box will be used for spare parts preparation. The visualization of various SAP data, such as goods issues, is also on the idea list.

read more

Discover more

Interest aroused?

„After just a few brief discussions with Peakboard and watching a few online videos that they provided, I was able to design the interface myself without any help from the Peakboard team, down to being able to integrate our corporate identity.”

Denis Maljkovic, Head of Production and Industrialization at Aquis

Aquis Systems

Aquis Systems
“The effects have been consistently positive. The overall effectiveness of production has increased, and our planning is more accurate. Our processes have also been significantly accelerated thanks to the MES functions. Our teams are even more motivated than before, and they are really leaning into the friendly competition to achieve the goals.”

Mityo Dryankov, Director Maintenance, Innovations and Technology at Bon EOOD.

Bon EOOD

Bon EOOD
„From the first minute the employees loved Peakboard and the visualization. They are much more motivated because they see the daily goals and workload. More transparency in the whole company.“

Jordan Marlin, Manager Operational Technology, Industry 4.0 Engineering at BWI Group

BWI Group

BeijingWest Industries (BWI Group)
“We were able to set up the dashboard so that we could self-manage it: We downloaded the Peakboard Designer, chose the components to be displayed, and then configured and set up the Peakboard Box. This was a simple task due to our knowledge of automation structures. There was also a lot of learning by doing, which was fun. We were able to put the first implementations into live operation after just a week.”

Ralph Sagberger, Head of Organization & Production at Corratec

Corratec

Corratec
„With Peakboard, information is now quickly and transparently available right where it is needed.“

Sandra Schubert, Process Optimization at GBA Group

GBA Group

GBA Group
“Only Peakboard met our requirements for standardized interfaces to various systems, especially SAP, as well as the visualization of shop-floor data in real-time and with no programming required.”

André Fimpel, Head of Lean Management at Helmut Fischer GmbH

Helmut Fischer GmbH

Helmut Fischer GmbH
“We like the easy usability of the Peakboard Designer and that complex designs can still be created with LUA. The excellent support from Peakboard and the speed with which new functions are implemented is clearly worthy of mention.”

Marc-Philip Stüttern, Head of IT at Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG

Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co KG

Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG
“By using Peakboard we have become faster and more precise in our processes. The newly gained transparency also reveals further potential for process optimization, which we will gradually exploit.”

Björn Mutschler, Head of Production at Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH

Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH

Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH
“With Peakboard, we have achieved efficiency through greater transparency. Employees can see at a glance right from their workplace what the current status is and can steer their work steps accordingly.”

Oliver Herz, Head of Application Development at MUNSCH-Group

Munsch Plastic Welding Technology

Munsch Plastic Welding Technology
„We needed a centralized display of current production data on an andon-board to take the next big step toward operational excellence. Employees should be able to see the status of their plant in real time: What is running on my machine right here, right now? The solution selected also had to be able to become the standard in our group to avoid having to work with a large number of different systems.“

Mario Pichler, Head of Automation at Pankl Racing Systems Inc.

Pankl Racing System AG

Pankl Racing Systems AG

Get started right away!

Peakboard now
test free of charge.

Scroll to Top

Success Story

Sehen, was wichtig ist – mit Peakboard.

Bizerba SE & Co. KG

Produktion von Brems- und Federungssystemen | Fertigung

Herausforderungen

Visuelles Monitoring von Funktionsfehlern bei Applikationen oder Datentransfers zwischen Systemen | Darstellung von Informationen aus verschiedenen Systemen für Staplerfahrer

Lösung

Einführung von Peakboard zur Informationsvisualisierung über Touchpads sowie über Monitore in der Produktionshalle und im Büro

Vorteile

  • Direkte Informationsverfügbarkeit auf dem Stapler per Touchpad
  • Schnellere Reaktionsmöglichkeiten bei Applikationsfehlern oder Datentransferproblemen
  • Nachhaltige Optimierung von IT-Prozessen durch Prozesstransparenz

Time to value

Einen Arbeitstag für die Erstellung des ersten Dashboards und Einbindung in das System

Der Kunde

Bizerba SE & Co. KG.

Bizerba bietet Kunden der Branchen Handwerk, Handel, Industrie und Logistik ein weltweit einzigartiges Lösungsportfolio aus Hard- und Software rund um die zentrale Größe „Gewicht“. Das Angebot umfasst Produkte und Lösungen für die Tätigkeiten Schneiden, Verarbeiten, Wiegen, Kassieren, Prüfen, Kommissionieren und Auszeichnen. Umfangreiche Dienstleistungen von Beratung über Service, Etiketten und Verbrauchsmaterialien bis hin zum Leasing runden das Lösungsspektrum ab. Hauptsitz der seit fünf Generationen in Familienhand geführten Unternehmensgruppe mit weltweit rund 4.100 Mitarbeitern ist Balingen in Baden-Württemberg. Weitere Produktionsstätten befinden sich in Deutschland, Österreich, der Schweiz, Italien, Spanien, China sowie in den USA. Daneben unterhält Bizerba ein weltweites Netz von Vertriebs- und Servicestandorten. Präsent ist Bizerba in 120 Ländern weltweit.

mehr lesen
„Digitalisierung heißt für mich auch, aus bestehenden Daten einen echten Mehrwert generieren. Und genau das machen wir mit Peakboard: Wir stellen den Mitarbeitern die Informationen bereit, die sie in ihrem Alltag auch wirklich benötigen – auf einfache Weise und genau an dem Ort, wo sie benötigt werden, ob im Büro, in der Werkshalle oder auf dem Stapler.“
Christian Leins, Leiter der Softwareentwicklung bei Bizerba

Herausforderung

Mehr Durchblick in der Logistik.

Über die Jahre hat sich bei Bizerba eine sehr diversifizierte IT-Systemlandschaft entwickelt. Dazu gehören neben SAP ERP, Microsoft Dynamics CRM und einer eigenentwickelten Lösung für den Fieldservice zahlreiche Sonderapplikationen.

„Wir in der IT bekamen dabei allerdings nicht schnell genug mit, wenn irgendwo etwas nicht ordentlich lief – ob zum Beispiel bei einem Anwender ein Applikationsfehler aufgetreten, oder ein Datentransfer zwischen den Systemen abgebrochen ist. Wir konnten erst dann aktiv werden, wenn ein Anwender ein Ticket aufgemacht hat – und mussten dann den Themen hinterherrennen. Das wollten wir ändern“,

erläutert Christian Leins, Leiter der Softwareentwicklung bei Bizerba. Leins ging es dabei nicht um ein klassisches IT-Monitoring der CPU-Auslastung und ähnlichen Leistungsdaten:

„Ich wollte anhand von Daten in verschiedenen Applikationsdatenbanken wissen, was läuft – und was eben nicht. Mittels Logfileanalysen wollte ich zudem direkt sehen, wo eine Anwendung oder eine Schnittstelle einen Fehler hat. Nur so können wir nicht nur schnell steuernd eingreifen, sondern auch kontinuierlich Systeme und Prozesse optimieren.“

Leins war aber nicht der Einzige, der sich mehr Durchblick wünschte: Die Logistikabteilung an einem der Bizerba-Standorte hatte die Idee, Gabelstapler mit einem Touchscreen auszustatten, über die der Gabelstaplerfahrer Informationen aus verschiedenen Systemen angezeigt bekommt – etwa zu Aufträgen.

mehr lesen

Lösung

Startklar in unter acht Stunden.

Die Idee, selber zu entwickeln, verwarf Leins ebenso wie den Einsatz mächtiger Lösungen – er begeisterte sich stattdessen für Peakboard, eine All-in-One-Lösung für einfaches Corporate Digital Signage.

„Wir kannten die Entwicklerqualitäten des Teams hinter Peakboard durch die ehemalige Muttergesellschaft Theobald Software, von der wir den ERPConnect nutzen“, berichtet Leins. „Insoweit war klar: Hinter Peakboard steckt IT-Intelligenz und Kompetenz. Ich habe dann eine kostenlose Teststellung ausprobiert und war wirklich angetan von der unkomplizierten Erstellung der Dashboards.“

Entsprechend schnell war ein erstes IT-Management-Dashboard lauffähig – nach nur acht Stunden konnte der Leiter der Softwareentwicklung sehen, wie es in Sachen Applikationen und Datentransfers bei Bizerba läuft.

Professionell und engagiert unterstützt wurde Leins bei der Weiterentwicklung der Lösung von Peakboard. Auch der Support klappt laut Leins einwandfrei:

„Wenn ich eine Mail schreibe, ist in der Regel binnen einer halben Stunde eine qualifizierte Antwort da.“ 

mehr lesen

Ergebnis

Viele Fälle, eine Lösung.

Inzwischen sind drei Peakboard Boxen bei Bizerba im Einsatz: Das IT-Management-Dashboard läuft in Leins Büro.

„Ich habe so ganz nebenbei immer ein Auge auf die laufenden Anwendungen und Schnittstellen. Das ist auch sehr praktisch im Gespräch mit meinen Mitarbeitern – wir können sofort besprechen, wo sich wer um welchen Punkt kümmern muss. Uns wird auch direkt präsentiert, wie viele Tickets offen sind, welche neuen Tickets dazugekommen sind, ob es sich um Fehler handelt oder Anfragen. Es ist alles immer da – in Echtzeit. Ich muss die Informationen nicht erst holen, sondern ich bekomme die Informationen zu jeder Zeit über verschiedene Screens gebracht.“ 

Das Staplerinfo-Dashboard visualisiert SAP-, Counter- und Webcam-Daten. In festgelegten Zyklen wird dem Staplerfahrer angezeigt, wann er an welcher Stelle in der Produktion zum Beispiel Container leeren muss. Angezeigt wird auch die Menge der Aufträge oder welche Artikel ein- und ausgelagert werden müssen. Über einen Livestream von der Webcam der Anlieferungsrampe sieht er, wann ein Lkw ankommt, sodass er sofort zur Rampe fahren kann. Zudem können die Vorgesetzten respektive Mitarbeiter in der Produktion dem Staplerfahrer Nachrichten schicken.

„Für die Realisierung in Form einer kleinen Applikation haben wir den integrierten Webservice von Peakboard genutzt“, ergänzt Leins.

Aus einer Lean-Management-Initiative eines Standorts heraus entstand ein weiterer „Fall für Peakboard“: Peakboard zeigt in der Produktionshalle über einen großen, zentral angebrachten Monitor wie viele Minuten ein Produktionsschritt noch dauern darf, bevor das Werkstück auf den nächsten Arbeitsplatz wechselt. Durch farbliche Schattierungen der Zahlendarstellung wird die Restzeit verdeutlicht. Angezeigt werden zudem der Gesamtoutput, die Fehlerrate, der Wochenplan und der Tagesablauf. Die Vorgesetzten können diese Anzeige über zentral abgelegte Excel-Dateien steuern, auf die Peakboard im Abstand von wenigen Minuten zugreift. Kommt es zum Beispiel zu einem Maschinenausfall, kann die Zeitanzeige einfach per Mausklick auf Pause geschaltet werden, bis die Störung behoben ist.

mehr lesen

Zukunft

Große Pläne für Peakboard..

Auch für weitere Peakboard-Szenarien gibt es bei Bizerba schon Pläne. So soll eine komplette Produktionslinie an einem der Bizerba-Standorte vom Warenein- bis zum Warenausgang mit Peakboard visualisiert werden. Der technische Support wird Peakboard für die Teamsteuerung nutzen, angezeigt werden hier Daten aus dem Call Center System, dem CRM und dem Fieldservice-Informationssystem. Eine weitere Peakboard Box wird für die Ersatzteilaufbereitung verwendet. Zudem steht die Visualisierung verschiedener SAP-Daten auf der Ideenliste, wie zum Beispiel Warenausgänge. 

mehr lesen

Mehr endecken

Interesse geweckt?

„Nach ein paar kurzen Gesprächen mit Peakboard und dem Ansehen von zur Verfügung gestellten Online-Videos konnte ich die Oberfläche ohne Hilfe des Peakboard Teams selbst gestalten, bis hin zur Integration unserer Corporate Identity.“

Denis Maljkovic, Head of Production and Industrialization bei Aquis

Aquis Systems

Aquis Systems
„Die Auswirkungen waren durchweg positiv. Die Gesamteffektivität der Produktion ist gestiegen und unsere Planungen sind genauer.Unsere Prozesse haben sich außerdem durch die MES-Funktionen deutlich beschleunigt. Unsere Teams sind noch motivierter als vorher und entwickeln sportlichen Ehrgeiz, die Ziele zu erreichen.“

Mityo Dryankov, Director Maintenance, Innovations and Technology bei Bon EOOD.

Bon EOOD

Bon EOOD
„Der Einsatz von Peakboard hat unsere Qualität verbessert, Effizienz erhöht und Mitarbeitende motiviert. Die Implementierung verlief denkbar schnell. Insgesamt war es ein kleiner Schritt mit großer Wirkung.“

Jordan Marlin, Manager Operational Technology, Industry 4.0 Engineering bei BWI

BWI Group

BeijingWest Industries (BWI Group)
„Das Dashboard haben wir in Eigenregie erstellt: Download des Peakboard Designers, Wahl der anzuzeigenden Komponenten, Bestellung und Einrichtung der Peakboard Box. Mit Kenntnis der Strukturen der Automatisierung war das einfach. Es gab auch viel Learning by Doing und es hat Spaß gemacht“, so Sagberger. „Die ersten Umsetzungen konnten bereits nach einer Woche in Betrieb gehen.“

Ralph Sagberger, Leiter Organisation & Produktion bei Corratec

Corratec

Corratec
„Mit Peakboard sind Informationen jetzt schnell und transparent direkt dort verfügbar, wo sie gebraucht und gesehen werden.“

Sandra Schubert, Prozessoptimierung bei GBA Laborgruppe

GBA Laborgruppe

GBA Laborgruppe
„Unsere Anforderungen nach standardisierten Schnittstellen zu diversen Systemen, insbesondere SAP, sowie die Visualisierung der Shopfloor-Daten in Echtzeit und ohne Programmierung erfüllte nur Peakboard.“

André Fimpel, Leiter Lean Management bei Helmut Fischer GmbH

Helmut Fischer GmbH

Helmut Fischer GmbH
„Uns gefällt die einfache Bedienung des Peakboard Designers und dass sich trotzdem mit LUA komplexe Designs erstellen lassen. Ganz klar hervorzuheben ist der erstklassige Support seitens Peakboard und die Geschwindigkeit, mit der neue Funktionen implementiert werden.“

Marc-Philip Stüttern, Leiter IT bei Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG

Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG

Joh. Clouth GmbH & Co. KG
„Durch den Einsatz von Peakboard sind wir schneller und präziser in unseren Prozessen geworden. Durch die neu gewonnene Transparenz wird zudem weiteres Potenzial für Prozessoptimierungen sichtbar, das wir nach und nach nutzen werden.“

Björn Mutschler, Produktionsleiter bei Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH

Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH

Johannes Giesser Messerfabrik GmbH
„Mit Peakboard haben wir Effizienz durch mehr Transparenz erreicht. Die Mitarbeiter können mit einem Blick direkt am Arbeitsplatz erfassen, wie der aktuelle Status ist und ihre Arbeitsschritte entsprechend lenken.“

Oliver Herz, Leiter der Anwendungsentwicklung bei MUNSCH-Unternehmensgruppe

MUNSCH Kunststoff-Schweißtechnik GmbH

MUNSCH Kunststoff-Schweißtechnik GmbH
„Wir brauchten eine zentrale Darstellung der aktuellen Produktionsdaten auf einem Andon Board, um den nächsten großen Schritt zur Operational Excellence zu gehen. Mitarbeiter sollten in Echtzeit den Status ihrer Anlage sehen können: Was läuft hier und jetzt auf meiner Maschine? Die auszuwählende Lösung sollte außerdem zum Standard in unserem Konzern werden können, um nicht mit einer großen Anzahl verschiedener Systeme zu arbeiten.“

Mario Pichler, Head of Automation bei Pankl Racing Systems AG

Pankl Racing System AG

Pankl Racing Systems AG

Lege direkt los!

Peakboard jetzt
kostenlos testen.

Nach oben scrollen

Nichts mehr verpassen!

Peakboard Newsletter.